The madness of Mandalay Myanmar

Pollution and chaos MandalayFor five minutes I stand on the sidewalk gazing out into the chaos in front of me wondering when I will have the courage to venture out into the chaos and make it across the street without the help of a pedestrian crosswalk. As I try to edge my way through the mass of traffic to get across the hectic street I see a nimble young man glide through, around, with the traffic. I smile and wave and he stops in a puff of exhaust from one of the thousand honking, screeching, smoky motorcycles in Mandalay. I step back to the curb and decide to walk a few more blocks down before crossing the street. For five minutes I stand on the sidewalk gazing out into the chaos in front of me wondering when I will have the courage to venture out into the vehicular stream and make it across the street without the help of a pedestrian crosswalk. As I try to edge my way through the mass of traffic to get across the hectic street I see a nimble young man glide through, around, with the traffic. I smile and wave and he stops in a puff of exhaust from one of the thousand honking, screeching, smoky motorcycles in Mandalay. I step back to the curb and decide to walk a few more blocks down.

Do you have any thoughts or comments?

